Penryn

Penryn

I have wonderful memories of Penryn from past visits. But it appears those memories may be based on imagination rather than fact.

Griffith Griffith imigrated from Wales in the mid-1840s, was in the California gold fields by 1848, and founded Penryn in 1864.

The quarry employed two hundred quarrymen, stonecutters, and support staff. Penryn granite found its way into many important buildings of San Francisco and Sacramento.

The memory for which I can now find no support is this: There was an economic depression, and the slow-down in construction meant there was very little demand for Griffith Griffith’s granite. But rather than lay off all his workers, he kept them on and they put up civic buildings for the town.

I found one of the beautiful old buildings, and marveled at the intricate placement of the carefully hewn stones.

Stone building, Penryn

Next I went to the Penryn Museum, which had been the office of the granite works.

Penryn Museum

It turns out that the museum is only open on weekends. But there was a telephone number (sans area code) so I left a message.

Monument at Penryn Museum

I received a reply from Debbie Poulsen a few days later. She also sent me some records from the historical society all about Griffith Griffith. There was nothing about supporting employees through tough times.

##

Thanks for following along on the Great Valley Excursion. Join in the conversation on Twitter with the hashtag #GVExc, and check out the Facebook Fan Page. Of course, I relish your comments–easy to add, below.

You can also view, and obtain, artwork and photographs at my online gallery.art

This entry was posted in book, memoir, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment